New lease of life for Henley Coats of Arms

Artist, Colin Fisher

Artist, Colin Fisher

0
Have your say

The Henley in Arden Court Leet has renovated its Coats of Arms and shields during a three month refurbishment project undertaken under the leadership of High Bailiff, Norman Kench.

The 40 shields of the Lords of the Manor of Henley dating back to 1086 have been hanging at the Guildhall for over 100 years. Artist, Colin Fisher was commissioned to do the work and the clean up has been described as “stunning”.

Henley Court Leet Coats of Arms

Henley Court Leet Coats of Arms

The shields represent Coats of Arms from 1086 to 1917 and were produced between 1915 and 1917 by the then Lord of the Manor, W J Fieldhouse.

Back in 1086 when Thurstan De Montfort was the first to hold the title after being granted a Royal Charter by Empress Matilda, the widow of William the Conqueror.

Of the sixty Lords of the Manor to hold the title, nine were kings or queens and would pass it on as a reward to their favourite courtiers.

The current Lord of the Manor is Robin Hardy Freed whose father bought the title at auction in 1992 for £180,000. They have since helped restore the Guildhall Cottage and funded the Heritage Centre.