Warwick District Council election results: Tories increase majority and Greens get first councillor while Liberal Democrats make loss


The Conservatives have strengthened their majority on Warwick District Council after today’s election results.

The Tories gained six seats on their result in 2011 with a majority of 31 of the 46 seats available while Labour gained one for a total of nine seats and the Liberal Democrats lost seven to end up with just two.

Whitnash Residents Association held its three seats in the town with Robert Margrave stepping in for Bernard Kirton to win his seat for the association.

The council now has its first Green Party councillor as Ian Davison won a seat in the Brunswick Ward with 1,264 votes.

Results (wards and winners):

Abbey: Michael Coker (Con) 1,851, Rowena Hill (Con) 1,693, George Illingworth (Con) 1,803.

Arden: Sue Gallagher (Con) 2,777, Peter Whiting (Con) 2,261

Aylesford: Martyn Ashford (Con) 1,526, Noel Butler (Con) 1,746

Bishops Tachbrook: Andrew Day (Con) 846

Brunswick: Ian Davison (Green) 1,264, Kristie Naimo (Lab) 1,181

Budbrooke: Peter Phillips (Con): 2,057, Alan Rhead (Con) 2,332

Clarendon: Caroline Evetts (Con) 1,029, Jane Knight (Lab) (937)

Crown: Alan Boad (Lib) 1,074, Stef Parkins (Lab) 935

Emscote: Jackie D’Arcy (Lab) 1,009, Richard Edgington (Con) 1,386

Leam: Colin Quinney (Lab) 1,050, Barbara Weed (Lab) 1,049

Manor: Gordon Cain (Con) 1,339, Amanda Stevens (Con) 1,542

Milverton: Bill Gifford (Lib) 1,523, Hayley Grainger (Con) 1,141

Myton and Heathcote: Raj Mann (Con) 1,252, Neale Murphy (Con) 1,286

Newbold: Daniel Howe (Con) 1,160, Andrew Thompson (Con) 1,197

Park Hill: Felcity Bunker (Con) 2,520, Andrew Mobbs (Con) 2,436, Dave Shilton (Con) 2,643

Radford Semele: Michael Doody (Con) 1,019

Saltisford: John-Paul Bromley (Lab) 1,214, Terry Morris (Con) 1,582

St John’s: Pat Cain (con) 2,463, John Cooke (Con) 2,453, Richard Davies (Con) 2,488

Stoneleigh and Cubbington: Nick Harrington (Con) 1,390, Pam Redford (Con) 1,177

Sydenham: John Barrott (Lab) 1,262, Balvinder Gill (Lab) 1,249

Whitnash: Judith Falp (Ind) 1,941, Tony Heath (Ind) 1,851, Robert Margrave (Ind) 1,646

Woodloes: Stephen Cross (Con) 1.400, Moira-Ann Grainger (Con) (1,206)

Overall result: Con: 31, Lab: 9, Lib: 2, Whitnash: 3. Green: 1