Win shares in a winning horse at Warwick races

editorial image

Win shares in your own racehorse in the latest thrill seeking adventure at Warwick Racecourse this autumn.

Race-goers will have chance to enter a free prize draw at the races on October 1 to be in with chance of winning an honorary share in Dormouse, a horse trained by Warwickshire-based Anabel Murphy for the coming season.

The horse is a three-time winner over the jumps at Warwick, which included being first past the post with retired Champion jockey AP McCoy on board in November 2012, and is due to run next Thursday.

Trainee general manager at the ground, Liam Johnson, said the lucky winner will become an honorary owner of Dormouse so won’t be entitled to any prize money but will be able to follow the horse each time he runs as well as being invited to Anabel’s yard to see him in training.

He said: “Anabel has a wonderful record of training winning horses and particularly here at Warwick where Dormouse is a course specialist with a trio of wins.”

Anabel, who is based at Stratford, has trained several prolific winning horses both on the flat and over hurdles and steeplechases, and won prestigious races over a 30-year career.

She has close links with Warwick where her husband Aiden, who also acts as her assistant trainer, is a member of the racecourse committee.

Anabel said: “It’s great to be joining forces with Warwick to give a racing enthusiast a taste of what it is like to own a National Hunt racehorse.

“It’s a fantastic prize and should give the winner a great deal of enjoyment and fun.

“Dormouse is just a legend. He has been with me for seven years since he was three-years-old. He has run 57 times and completed the course in all but one race which is a great achievement.

“He will give the winner a huge amount of pleasure over the season from seeing him race to visiting him at the yard and watching him train over the gallops.”

Entry forms will be available at the racecourse during the October 1 meeting and should be submitted by 3pm.

Gates open at 12.10pm for the six-race fixture.