Siggers has to settle for second after a brave front-running effort in Rugby

Andy Siggers, far right, has Chris McCarthy and Chris Jordan for company at the start of the Rugby 6.
Andy Siggers, far right, has Chris McCarthy and Chris Jordan for company at the start of the Rugby 6.

A brave front-running effort from Kenilworth Runners’ Andy Siggers went unrewarded at the Rugby 6, the second fixture in the East Midlands Grand Prix series.

The course which takes in the lower part of Carthorse Hill at Barby is known for the strength-sapping hills, none more so than the final one of over half a mile coming back into Hillmorton.

Siggers pushed the pace from outset and took the outright lead four miles in.

However, Southam’s Rich Simkiss, running for the McCarkiss Elite Project, produced a devastating final sprint to overhaul Siggers and win in 31min 53sec.

Siggers was five seconds back in second, with McCarkiss Elite’s Matt Adcock a further seven seconds behind in third.

Kenilworth Runners’ Neil Cressy (35:52) and Neil Sheward (37:39) both clocked new PBs over the distance to finish30th and 65th, respectively, while Dave Pettifer (40:13) and Pauline Dable (55:14) both won their age categories.

Leamington C&AC were led home by Chris Hitchman (72nd in 38:13).

He just held off Brian Miller (38:35) who was seven places back while Graham Garlick also broke the 40-minute barrier with 39:57 for 103rd.

Further down the field, Alex Montgomery edged out Roland Hancock in the final 400 metres after a race-long battle, clocking 44:40 to beat his clubmate by two seconds.

The race formed part of Spa Striders’ Summer Series, with Will Johnson picking up useful points after clocking 34:51 for 18th. Paul Edwards was 45th in 36:34.

Selected others (Spa Striders unless stated): 51, Andrew Graham (36:42); 53, Chris McKeown (36:50); 112, Carolyn Wilkinson (2nd F45, 40:18); 144, Louise Andrews (Kenilworth Runners, 42:09); 145, Simon Parsons (42:11); 163, Richard Zanetti (Kenilworth Runners, 42:56); 173, Andrew Pope (43:14); 180, Fiona Ferguson (43:35); 188, Clare Hinton (44:05); 203, Dave Lindsay (45:15); 225, Doug Rattray (46:41); 285, Thomas Dable (Kenilworth Runners, 51:22); 290, Kevin Pantling (51:37); 305, Lorraine Parsons (53:25); 307, Rachel Siggers (Kenilworth Runners, 53:52); 308, David Lithgow (53:54); 343, Colin Bricher (Kenilworth Runners, 57:40).