St George's thrash Colebridge to take tight grip of second

A flurry of outstanding matches squeezed in by local clubs have made the promotion and relegation issues clearer in most divisions, writes Phil John.

Saturday, 7th May 2016, 9:33 am
Paul Calloway won two for Division Two champions Phoenix O in their 6-4 defeat to Rugby B. Picture: Morris Troughton

Rugby A retained the Division One title by a 17-point margin thanks to the consistent form of Ryan Lines (87 per cent win ratio), Matt Outhwaite (92%), Adrian Pilgrim (95%) and Ryan Stockham (93%).

There were new runners-up with St George’s B finishing 17 points above previous encumbents Colebridge A.

Colebridge’s cause was not helped when they could muster only two players for their visit to St George’s, who romped to a 9-1 win courtesy of trebles from Mark Jackson and Laurence Sweeney and a double from Ron Vose. Ben Willson staved off the whitewash.

Free Church A defeated County Council B 6-4 to cement fourth place. Lee Dorning was unbeaten, with Timmy Cooper grabbing two and Tom Brocklehurst one.

Simon Griew won two for Council and took the doubles with Nilton Green who won once.

County Council A signed off with a 6-4 win over Free Church B to finish seventh.

Colebridge B and St George’s A just avoided relegation with the Brummies taking their end-of-season clash 7-3.

Joshua Bleakley, in only his second Leamington appearance, notched a hat-trick, Anthony Ellis won twice and John Chandler once with Bleakley and Ellis securing the doubles. Luke Hobbins (2) and Damon Fenton (1) responded.

Free Church C and Nomads A went through the relegation trapdoor.

Phoenix O won Division Two despite losing 6-4 to runners-up Rugby B.

Paul Calloway won two and Richard Jardim and Callum Martin bagged one apiece but Rugby took the honours with a terrific triple from Danny Orr who was backed up by young Sam Cafearo (two wins) in the doubles.

Millennium A and Nomads E were their nearest challengers and the teams drew to deny each other promotion.

Jack Garner and Michael Harrison each won two and the doubles for the Banbury team with Syed Moyinuddin winning three for the travellers and Steve Proctor and Charlie Somerton adding singles.

Eathorpe A suffered relegation despite posting a 7-3 win over top-half side Free Church D.

Bernard Reman and Pete Titmas recorded maximums and the doubles, with Mark Bolshaw, Cherry Matthews and Anthony Smith all nabbing consolation singles.

The other relegated side are St George’s D who fell 7-3 to Rugby C.

Ben Holvey and Hugh Crosfield won all seven contested points after ceding three to St George’s.

Lillington Free Church F won Division Three by a point after a nail-biting 8-2 win over Eathorpe B in their final match.

James Robertson was their hero, winning his three and the doubles with Lewis Singleton who won twice. Milan Sajiv also recorded two excellent victories and it was left to Marius Morariu to respond.